V11

Widget Ownership

Sharing Access to your Widgets

Managing Widget Access

Widget access is primarily managed from the collaboration window in My Widgets:

Sharing access to a widget with the collaboration dialog.
Sharing access to a widget with the collaboration dialog.

This dialog allows you to manage both your access as well as the access of other users.

There are two tiers of access to widgets:

The top section of the dialog will indicate your access level and gives you the ability to revoke your own access to the widget, if desired. Note that there must always be at least one user with Full access to a given widget; the Leave button will be disabled if this condition would not be met if you remove your access.

If you just want to get rid of a widget in My Widgets, you can always delete it.

The lower section details other users’ access to the widget. If you have Full access, you will have additional options to administrate access levels of other users, including their permission level and the expiration date of their access. You can also remove their access completely, if desired.

Note that any user with Full access can modify the access of any other user with Full access. You are effectively shared owners of the widget.

Adding New Users

You can add additional collaborators by entering their name or email into the search box at the top. The user must have previously interacted with Materia in order to be available in this drop-down: this is because Materia maintains its own internal user records independent of your LMS or other institutional identity databases.

Widget Access in Courses

Widgets embedded in your LMS will sync scores with the gradebook (if there is an associated gradebook column for the context they are embedded in) regardless of who owns them. If you own or inherit a course that contains embedded widgets owned by other users, don’t worry! They’ll continue to work just fine. However, if you visit one of these widgets with an author or instructor role in the course, Materia will grant you provisional access to it. Let’s go over what that means.

Provisional Access to Widgets

Provisional access is granted automatically to you when you visit a widget that you don’t own in a course that you do. It’s effectively a limited version of View Scores access:

Provisional access to a widget in My Widgets.
Provisional access to a widget in My Widgets.

Users with provisional access will appear in the collaboration dialog for a given widget with a message indicating the special access status:

A user with provisional access in the collaboration dialog.
A user with provisional access in the collaboration dialog.

Select Unrestrict Access to remove the provisional access limitation and grant the user the normal View Scores permission level. From this point, their permissions can be modified like any other user.